30
Apr
10

Americans, Canadians, and Roller Derbians- I thank you

Have you seen the movie Julie and Julia? It depicts one woman’s quest to bake the entirety of Julia Child’s (depicted by Meryl Streep) 524 recipes in “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” in one year and blog about her experience.  At one point in the movie, before Julie’s blog becomes nationally known, she gets excited that a reader leaves a comment on her blog (although the reader turns out to be her mother- which Julie laments, “Doesn’t really count”).

 The Fresh Meat Beat doesn’t garner many comments, but every now and then I receive a personal message relating to something I wrote.  Several strangers have told me about their own journeys with eating disorders, CrossFit, paleo, or passed along boot shining techniques. (Another reader from Canada, a self-confessed former bulimic, challenged me to a duel after reading this post . Bring it sister! Not only is your former ED inferior to mine, but you’re also Canadian!)

Friends, readers, Canadians- I just want to say thank you: it’s inspiring and usually surprising to me that other people read this blog and react to it other than my mother (thank you Mama Smackhouse for your readership).

Sadly, there are no plans in the works for Meryl Streep to depict me in a feature-length film– yet. Do you think she could pull off the fishnets for the roller derby scenes?

2 Responses to “Americans, Canadians, and Roller Derbians- I thank you”


  1. 1 Molly G
    May 4, 2010 at 8:37 am

    As much as I love Meryl Streep, I think you need a younger, tougher celeb to play your role….Maybe, Drew Barrymore? She kicked some booty in Charlie’s Angels.

  2. August 11, 2014 at 5:20 am

    What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered
    It absolutely useful and it has helped me out loads.
    I hope to give a contribution & help different customers like its helped me.

    Good job.


Leave a Reply

Archives

I train at:

I spread derby love with

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers


