30
Apr
10

Smackhouse to Kipping Pull Ups- “You complete me.”

I’m hesitant to post this, but here it goes: On Friday, April 30th, 2010, I Sookie Smackhouse declare public victory over kipping pull ups.

I’ve been struggling with kipping pull ups for the 9 months of my CrossFitting experience.  I had the strength for dead hangs, but any time I attempted the kip I was told I looked spasmastic. I haven’t been complimented like that since the last time I danced publicly.

Over the last month, I finally got a pull up bar at home, and the CrossFit instructors at the academy have been extremely helpful.  Last week I completed a WOD with pull ups and realized afterwards I kipped all of them (and no one asked if I was having an epileptic attack).  I wasn’t sure if it was a fluke.  I used to dislike the people who mastered kipping pull ups with little instruction and who would then comment, “I just got it.”

I didn’t think I would just “get” kipping pull ups one day.  In fact, a world without my struggle with kipping pull ups might even be boring.  I’d stare at the pull up bar and the Batman geek in me would think, “I think you and I are destined to do this forever.” 

But today is victory day. It wasn’t a fluke. My kipping pull ups aren’t nearly perfect, but I “got” it. Today is the day I looked at the pull up bar and said, “Kill you? I don’t want to kill you. You complete me.”

Friday WOD

Pullups- 1 the first minute

2 the 2nd minute

Keep going until you can’t do no mo

16 rounds

5 Responses to “Smackhouse to Kipping Pull Ups- “You complete me.””


  1. April 30, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    That. rules.

    You are such a badass. Congratulations!

  2. 2 Molly G
    May 4, 2010 at 8:38 am

    Now on to Butterfly Pullups….


Leave a Reply

Archives

I train at:

I spread derby love with

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers


